Research

Biomedical Electronics Group

Ultrasound

The Digital Signal Processing and Statistical Signal Processing Laboratoryfocuses on signal processing theory and its technological applications in medicine. For example the vibration signal generated by the human knee joint and the temporomandibular joint disease, the application of signal processing theory, the R & D to establish the mathematical model of vibration signal technology to assist in the diagnosis of human joint disease patterns and types of clinical analysis, and to provide the doctor with correct and necessary medical information.


Rat abdominal tumors, color Doppler flow imaging

Power Doppler imaging of the rat abdominal tumors
Magnetic Resonance Imaging (MRI)

Magnetic Resonance Imaging (MRI) is a non-ionizing radiation, non-invasive tomographic imaging technique that has been widely used in the clinical diagnosis of neurological diseases for the musculoskeletal system, cardiovascular disease, and celiac disease diagnosis as well as having substantial benefits in other aspects as well. A major advantage of using MRI is that it allows for comparing and contrasting of different lesions providing all aspects of diagnostic information such as vivo metabolite contents, oxygen concentration distribution, nerve fiber directional integration etc…

The MRI Labfocuses mainly on technology research and development for clinical diagnosis. The current plan includes: the functional assessment of balance and stability of the nervous system through the state of magnetic resonance imaging clinical applications, high magnetic field low-power propeller-driven proliferation of image capture technology in parallel magnetic resonance imaging of dynamic contrast injection for children with congenital immobilization cardiac surgery in patients after lung perfusion, and other clinical applications.

The Magnetic Resonance Imaging Spectrum Laboratoryis committed to the establishment of a research-based magnetic resonance imager hoping to eventually break the speed limits of existing MRI technology as well as enhancing the imaging capabilities of the MRI system. Main Research interests include: Brain functional MRI, diffusion MRI coil design, image optimization techniques, ultra-fast parallel capture of magnetic resonance imaging system, small animal physiology and pathology, and molecular imaging.


DTI (Diffusion Tensor Imaging) images of the brain diffusion tensor

Obtained at different times in the injection of MnCl2 rat brain T1-weighted imaging

Biomedical molecular imaging can be provided by the magnetic resonance imaging instrument and related equipment in the MR of the application, and provides image capture, preliminary analysis and application of quantitative analysis
Bio-Photonics

Research in the field of biophotonics is based on optical methods of observation and analysis of biological tissue; cellular and molecular.

The Biomedical Optical Spectroscopy and Imaging Laboratoryfocuses on spectroscopic analysis and development and application of optical imaging systems in order to aid biomedical research and the development of new medical diagnostic tools.

The Medical Micro-sensors and Systems Laboratoryfocuses on research topics including: miniaturized surface plasmon resonance optical detection technology for biomedical sensing molecules, the development of biochip technology, and optical detection devices.


Confocal images of cervical epithelial tissue in vivo.

SERS spectra of unmodified, trimethylated, and acetylated peptides.

Biosensor

Miniaturized SPR sensing chip
Bio-Chips

The Biomedical Electronics and Bioinformatics Laboratory focuses on technology related to biochip –DNA and protein microarrays and its application to Biomedical Research. The main research topics focus on DNA microarray system processes, use of measurement systems and its improvement and development, DNA microarray imaging and data analysis methods as well as online analysis for development, and application of DNA micro-array carry out occupational health and cancer as well as other bio-medical studies.

The Medical Micro-sensors and Systems Laboratoryresearches the use of Biomedical sensing molecules on the surface of plasmon resonance for optical detection and the technical development of biochips and miniaturized optical detection components.



Architecture of Microarray analysis platform and systems.
Neuroimaging

he complexity of human behavior is based upon the cognitive function by the brain and how the nervous systems of the different sectors interact as opposed to being controlled by a single structure. To learn more about brain function, you need the structurally study the following three questions:
(1)Areas of Activity
(2)When and why these activities occur
(3)How to complete these cognitive behavior by large-scale neural network message passing

Modern non-invasive neuroimaging techniques such as magnetic resonance imaging (MRI), electroencephalography (EEG), and magneto encephalography can help us the data of high spatial and temporal resolution of neural activity, while the quantitative link will help to interpret the implied together in these neuroimaging data to complete sensory, cognitive and behavioral history of dynamic neural activity.


Combining anatomical and functional data from MRI, fMRI, and MEG, we estimated high spatiotemporal resolution neuronal oscillation power in the auditory cortex in response to 40 Hz auditory click trains. The power of 40 Hz neuronal current oscillation was color coded and overlaid on the inflated left hemisphere cortex.
Digital Signal Processing (DSP)

The Digital Signal Processing and Statistical Signal Processing Laboratoryfocuses on signal processing theory and its technological applications in medicine. For example the vibration signal generated by the human knee joint and the temporomandibular joint disease, the application of signal processing theory, the R & D to establish the mathematical model of vibration signal technology to assist in the diagnosis of human joint disease patterns and types of clinical analysis, and to provide the doctor with correct and necessary medical information.

Biomedical Informatics Group

Biomedical Informatics Group

The Biomedical Informatics Group researches topics such as biomedical data analysis and mining, Computational Systems Biology, computing pharmacology and computational chemistry, as well as medical information systems. In terms of Data analysis and mining; areas of focus include biochips, information analysis, DNA and protein analysis, Gene and protein structure and function analysis, and data mining. In terms of computational pharmacology; the area focuses on basic biomedical and life sciences through the construction of simulation system models and its mathematical analysis as the basis for the analysis and simulation of cutting-edge biomedical and life sciences phenomenon. Computational chemistry focuses on the calculation of quantum chemical calculations and chemical kinetics involved in drug and vaccine development to construct a new computing models as well as designing more efficient algorithms for drug use. The Medical Information System covers a very wide dimension of research topics, including medical information applications, network systems, multimedia systems, database systems and parallel computing, distributed computing, real-time computing hardware and software design and algorithm analysis.

研究領域

生醫電子組

超音波

超音波影像實驗室 針對超音波影像在生物醫學上之應用,以深入瞭解超音波影像物理機制為核心, 信號處理演算法則為工具,提昇臨床及研究價值為目標。目前主要研究方向包含顯微影像系統,乳房影像,分子影像,奈米粒子生醫光聲技術與超音波治療等。

 
老鼠腹部腫瘤的彩色都普勒血流影像
 
 
老鼠腹部腫瘤的power Doppler影像
磁振造影

磁振造影(magnetic resonance imaging, MRI) 是一種無游離輻射的非侵入式斷層影像技術,已廣泛應用於臨床神經系統疾病之診斷,對於骨骼肌肉系統、心臟血管病變、腹腔疾病診斷等方面亦有實質幫助。磁振 造影主要的優勢在於其多變的病灶對比( lesion contrast),得以提供各方面的診斷資訊,例如體內代謝物含量、血氧濃度分佈、神經纖維方向性與整合度等等。

醫用磁振造影實驗室以 與臨床醫學診斷相關的技術研發為主。目前計畫方向包括:平衡穩定態磁振造影之神經系統臨床應用、高磁場低功率之螺旋 槳式擴散影像平行擷取技術、動態對比劑注射之磁振造影用於小兒先天性栓塞心臟病患手術後之肺灌流功能評估,以及其他臨床醫學相關應用。

磁共振影像頻譜實驗室致 力於建立一套以研究為主之核磁共振影像儀,期能突破現有磁振造影之成像速度限制,提升磁共振影像系統 之成像能力,主要之研究方向包括:大腦功能性磁振造影,擴散磁振造影,線圈設計,成像最佳化技術,超快速平行擷取磁振造影系統,小動物生理病理研究與分子 影像等。


腦部的擴散張量DTI (Diffusion Tensor Imaging)影像

注射MnCl2之後於不同時間下所取得之大鼠腦部之T1-weighted imaging

藉由現有之磁共振照影儀及相關之設備可提供生醫分子影像於MR之應用,並提供影像擷取、初步分析及定量分析之應用
生醫光學

生醫光電領域的研究,是以光學方法來觀察與分析生物組織、細胞與分子。

生醫光譜與影像實驗室 的主要研究方向為各種光譜的分析以及光學影像系統的發展與應用,以期對生物醫學的研究有所助益,並開發新的醫學診斷輔助工具。

醫用微感測器與系統實驗室 的研究主題包含以表面電漿共振光學檢測技術進行生醫分子的感測,生物晶片之技術發展以及光學檢測元件的微小化。


Confocal images of cervical epithelial tissue in vivo.

SERS spectra of unmodified, trimethylated, and acetylated peptides.

Biosensor

Miniaturized SPR sensing chip
生物晶片

生物晶片實驗室是 以發展生物晶片(biochip-DNA and protein microarrays)的相關技術為主,並應用在生物醫學的研究上。主要的 研究方向包含DNA微陣列的製程、使用與感測系統的改進與發展,DNA微陣列影像與資料分析方法以及線上分析工具的開發,並應用DNA微陣列進行職業衛生 與癌症等生物醫學方面的研究。

醫用微感測器與系統實驗室 的研究主題包含以表面電漿共振光學檢測技術進行生醫分子的感測,生物晶片之技術發展以及光學檢測元件的微小化。



Architecture of Microarray analysis platform and systems.
神經影像

複雜的人類行為與認知功能是藉由腦中不同階層的神經系統交互作用所表現出來, 而非僅由單一的結構所掌控, 有鑑於此, 欲進一步了解人腦功能, 就需要在結構與功能層面上研究以下三個問題:
(1)什麼地方發生活動
(2)這些活動是何時發生以及其發生順序為何
(3)是如何藉由在大規模的神經網路中的訊息傳遞完成這些認知行為。

現代非侵入性的神經影像技術例如核磁共振影像(magnetic resonance imaging, MRI), 腦電波圖(electroencephalography, EEG) 與腦磁波圖(magnetoencephalogrpahy, MEG) 可幫助我們獲得高空間與時間解析度的神經活動資料, 而定量的連結分析(functional and effective connectivity)將有助於解譯隱含於這些神經影像資料中協同完成感官, 認知, 與行為歷程的動態神經活動。


Combining anatomical and functional data from MRI, fMRI, and MEG, we estimated high spatiotemporal resolution neuronal oscillation power in the auditory cortex in response to 40 Hz auditory click trains. The power of 40 Hz neuronal current oscillation was c
數位信號處理

數位信號處理實驗室與統計信號處理實驗室將信號處理理論技術應用在醫學上之研究,例如由人體膝關節與顳顎關節病變所產生之振動訊號,應用相關信號處理理論研發建立此振動訊號之數學模型的技術,以協助臨床上分析診斷人體關節病變之型態與種類,以提供醫生進行正確且必要醫療措施所需之資訊。

生醫資訊組

簡介

 

本組研究主題為「生醫資料分析與探勘」、「計算系統生物學」、「計算藥物學及計算化學」以及「醫學資訊系統」。在生醫資料分析與探勘方面,研究重點包括生 物晶片(微陣列)資料分析、DNA與蛋白質序列分析、基因及蛋白質結構與功能分析、生醫資料探勘等。在計算系統生物學方面,研究重點則是針對生物醫學及生 命科學問題,建構數學分析及模擬計算的系統模型,以作為分析及模擬尖端生物醫學及生命科學現象的基礎。在計算藥物學及計算化學部分,將針對藥物及疫苗開發 所涉及的量子化學計算及化學動力學計算建構新的計算模型以及設計更有效率的演算法。在醫學資訊系統方面,研究主題涵蓋層面極廣,舉凡醫學資訊應用所涉及的 網路系統、多媒體系統、資料庫系統以及平行計算、分散式計算、即時計算之軟硬體設計與演算法分析均包含在內。